June 14 Webinar: Pan-Canadian NATO Counter-Summit – Building a National Resistance to the Alliance

Zoom Meeting

Monday, June 14 — 4:00 pm PT/ 5:00 pm MT/6:00 pm CT/ 7:00 pm ET/ 8:00 pm AT

To register for Zoom meeting: go here:https://us02web.zoom.us/…/tZIqcOGoqj4pGdDaZjtXvH…

This event is the Canadian expression of the Stop NATO 2021 actions organized by No to War – No to NATO in Europe opposing the NATO Heads of State summit taking place in Brussels on June 14th.

Everyone is welcome to this webinar to hear brief presentations from activists across the country about why Canada should withdraw from NATO, a U.S.-dominated, nuclear-armed alliance, and why NATO should be abolished for genuine peace and security in the world.

The program is organized by the Canadian Voice of Women for Peace, Canadian Foreign Policy Institute, Mobilization Against War and Occupation, Winnipeg Peace Alliance, Regina Peace Council, Hamilton Coalition to Stop the War, CPC(M-L), Ottawa Peace Council, Canadian Peace Congress and the Anti-imperialist Alliance.

Speakers include

Tamara Lorinc, Canadian Voice of Women for Peace — VOW’s campaign “Feminists Against Militarism: Women Say No to NATO”

Yves Engler, Canadian Foreign Policy Institute — History and Canada-NATO

Isaac Saney, No Harbour for War — Halifax International Security Forum

Margaret Villamizar, CPC(M-L) – the need to break the taboo on discussion on the values NATO represents and who decides they are Canadian values

Alison Bodine, Mobilization Against War and Occupation

David Gehl, Regina Peace Council

Radhika Desai, Winnipeg Peace Alliance

Following the presentations there will be time for a discussion and strategy session.

Leave a comment

Filed under Canada

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s