This day in history. The RCMP assault on the Mi’kmaq

 APTN Photographer/reporter: Ossie Michelin - text added by Ronnie Dean Harris)

APTN Photographer/reporter: Ossie Michelin – text added by Ronnie Dean Harris)

(Oct. 17) – The RCMP raid on a Mi’kmaq Warrior blockade against fracking [by a US corporation], went down a year ago today. I happened to be covering and camping at the blockade when the shit went down. What I witnessed there was how far the state will use force to protect the interests of corporations. But I also witnessed the huge hearts of the community of Elsipogtog and the uncompromising bravery of the warriors. Thanks to Linda Clair, Migitjo M Clair and Suzanne Patles for their hospitality while I was there. Big ups to Amanda S. Lickers of Reclaim Turtle Island for all the support work she during and after the raid. Finally, I also have to acknowledge that I would have never heard about the anti-fracking struggles in Elsipogtog, if it wasn’t for the persistent and solid journalistic work of Miles Howe of the Halifax Media Co-op. – Franklin López see video here: subMedia.tv

Leave a comment

Filed under History

Leave a comment